Open the Latest Newspaper Edition- FREE- Click HERE TO READ

penndotThe Pennsylvania State Police and Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) announced that National Child Passenger Safety Week is from Sunday, September 18th to Saturday, September 24th.

There will be several safety seat checks throughout the region. One of the safety seat checks will be at the Coudersport Volunteer Ambulance Company at 122 East 2nd Street on Wednesday, September 21st, from 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Another safety seat check will be at the Loyalsock Township Fire Hall at 715 Northway Road in Williamsport on Saturday, September 24th, from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. To see a full list of the safety seat checks, click here.

As part of National Child Passenger Safety Week, Saturday, September 24th, is “National Seat Check Saturday.” PennDOT Secretary Leslie S. Richards issued the following statement about National Child Passenger Safety Week, “PennDOT urges parents and guardians to remain informed as child safety laws and seats evolve… We encourage the public to take advantage of our seat checks and educational materials throughout the year to ensure that each child gets to their destination safely.”

Educational and training materials for Pennsylvania’s 171 fitting stations are funding by PennDOT. The PSP checks over 2,500 seats per year. The purpose of the checkups is to show drivers how to correctly install and use child safety seats.

Major Edward C. Hoke, who is the Bureau of Patrol Director, issued the following statement, “A properly installed child safety seat can be the difference in keeping your child safe in the event of a crash… We urge parents and caregivers to take advantage of the free safety seat check events being held around the state during the week.”

According to the state’s main seat-belt law, drivers and passengers under the age of 18 must be wearing a seat belt. In addition, children less than 4 years of age must be in a proper child safety seat. Children ages 4-8 have to be in a proper booster seat. As of August 2016, children less than 2 years of age have to be in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system that must be used until the child has outgrown the maximum limits and weight as stated by the manufacturer. Children between the ages of 8 and 18 have to wear their seat belts whenever they are riding in a vehicle. Drivers and passengers who are 18 and older must wear their seat belts. Motorists who are pulled over for a traffic violation can get an additional ticket and fine if they do not have their seat belt on. Children ages 12 and under should be in the back seat because of dangers that can result when the air bag is deployed.

According to the State Police Bureau of Patrol, drivers should do the following: Use the car’s seat belt to anchor the seat to the car unless you are using a child safety seat with the LATCH system; Use a tether strap if the seat requires it; Read and follow the car seat and vehicle manufacturers’ instructions; Make sure the seat’s harness fits snugly; and Fill out and return the registration card for your seat so you’ll know if it is recalled because of a problem.

If you would like more information about car seat safety, visit and click on “Public Safety”. For more information about child passenger safety resources, visit, click on “Traffic Safety and Driver Topics” and then click “Child Passenger Safety”.